In Florida, the required auto insurance coverage consists of Property Damage and Personal Injury Protection. Most people think they have “full coverage” on their insurance policy, but the term has created confusion as to what types of coverage are required in Florida. Many people also don’t know that Florida has some of the most lenient requirements for vehicle owners out of any state.

As a brief overview, Property Damage coverage will protect you by compensating the other driver for damage to his or her vehicle if you cause an accident. Here, however, we will discuss Personal Injury Protection. Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage will cover your medical bills after a car accident no matter whether the accident was your fault or the other person’s. Most people have $10,000.00 in PIP coverage that you can elect to use for either of two purposes. PIP will either cover 80% of your medical expenses or 60% of your lost wages up to $10,000.00. Most PIP policies contain a deductible of $500.00 or $1,000.00.

In the last few years, our State Congress has made many changes to the PIP statute. The insurance policies can now differentiate the PIP Policy limits depending of the seriousness of the injuries. The insurance companies are required to pay up to $10,000.00 of your medical expenses if a medical doctor determines that you have sustained an Emergency Medical Condition (“EMC”). If a doctor does not make that you have an “EMC” then the insurance company is only required to pay up to $2,500.00 of your medical expenses. PIP is mandatory in Florida and you cannot purchase auto insurance in the state without it. You can elect to purchase more than $10,000.00 in PIP

Contact the Attorneys of The Noble Law Firm, P.A. to assist you with your personal injury and/or insurance coverage matter.

Share ThisShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Email this to someonePrint this page